The Official Website of the Holy Metropolis of Abkhazia > Museum > Artifacts > Fragment of a limestone column of the altar barrier from the village of Ankhua No. 3

Fragment of a limestone column of the altar barrier from the village of Ankhua No. 3

 

In September 2021, during the clearing of the basement of the Skete of St. John the Baptist in the village of Ankhua, an architectural detail was found in the basement of the skete kitchen (dimensions: 28×19 cm).

Comparing this find with fragments of the altar barrier from the village of Ankhua, exhibited in the Abkhazian State Museum, it was concluded that this artifact was indeed a fragment of the altar barrier from the village of Ankhua.

The width of the fragment found exactly coincides with the width of the two columns of the altar barrier from the village of Ankhua (19 cm.)

On one of the lateral sides of the discovered fragment of a twisted half-column, a technical gutter (dimensions: 11×2 cm) is visible, which apparently served to fasten this half-column with other details of the altar barrier.

Thus, the new fragment will be designated as “Fragment of a limestone column of an altar barrier with a twisted half-column from the village of Ankhua No. 3 “.

The discovered fragment was used as a building material for the foundation of a large kitchen stove in the Skete of St. John the Baptist in the village of Ankhua. The one-storey room of the skete kitchen with a basement adjoins the building of the above skete from the west side. The stove was dismantled during the Soviet era, when the monastery kitchen was used as a grocery store.

Construction of a large building of the Skete of St. John the Baptist in the village of Ankhua was carried out in 1903-1908 by monks of the New Athos monastery.

This find also indicates that building blocks and various valuable architectural details from the ruins of medieval churches, as well as other historical monuments from the village of Ankhua, unfortunately, were used by the monks of the New Athos Monastery in the late XIX and early XX centuries for the construction of new monastic buildings, including the skete of St. John the Baptist in the village of Ankhua.

It is kept in the Church-Archaeological Museum of the Holy Metropolis of Abkhazia.

Официальный сайт Священной Митрополии Абхазии > Музей > Артефакты > Фрагмент известнякового столбика алтарной преграды из с. Анхуа № 3

Фрагмент известнякового столбика алтарной преграды из с. Анхуа № 3

 

В сентябре 2021 г. в ходе расчистки цокольного этажа здания скита св. Иоанна Крестителя в с. Анхуа от строительного мусора, в подвальном помещении скитской кухни была обнаружена архитектурная деталь (размеры: 28х19 см).

Сравнив данную находку с фрагментами алтарной преграды из с. Анхуа, выставленными в Абхазском государственном музее, было сделано заключение, что данный артефакт действительно является еще одним фрагментом алтарной преграды из с. Анхуа.

Размер ширины найденного фрагмента в точности совпадает с размерами ширины двух столбиков алтарной преграды из с. Анхуа — 19 см. Кроме того, витая колонка по обе стороны обрамлена (как и на двух вышеуказанных столбиках алтарной преграды из с. Анхуа) витым орнаментом (на левой стороне видны только следы орнамента), напоминающим так называемую сельджукскую цепь (лента плетения в две полосы, орнамент составлен из кружков небольшого диаметра с высверленным центром).

На одной из боковых сторон обнаруженного фрагмента витой полуколонки виден технический желоб (размеры: 11х2 см), который очевидно служил для скрепления данной полуколонки с другими деталями алтарной преграды.

Таким образом новый фрагмент будет обозначен как «Фрагмент известнякового столбика алтарной преграды с витой полуколонкой из с. Анхуа № 3».

Обнаруженный фрагмент был использован в качестве строительного материала для основания большой кухонной печи скита св. Иоанна Крестителя в с. Анхуа. Одноэтажное помещение скитской кухни с подвалом примыкает к зданию названного скита с западной стороны. Печь была разобрана в советское время, когда помещение монастырской кухни использовалось под продуктовый магазин.

Строительство большого здания скита св. Иоанна Крестителя в с. Анхуа было осуществлено в 1903–1908 гг. монахами Ново-Афонского монастыря.

Данная находка свидетельствует и о том, что строительные камни и различные ценные архитектурные детали из руин средневековых храмов, равно как и других исторических памятников с. Анхуа, к сожалению, были использованы монахами Ново-Афонского монастыря в кон. XIX и нач. XX вв. для возведения новых монастырских построек, включая и здание скита св. Иоанна Крестителя в с. Анхуа.

Хранится в Фонде Церковно-археологического музея Священной Митрополии Абхазии.