Schedule of Church Services (from 1 August to 1 September)

– For the sake of viewer convenience, the content is shown below in one of the available alternative languages. You may click one of the links to switch the site language to another available language.

 

3 August, Saturday:
5.00pm – Vespers, Confession

4 August, Sunday of St. Mary Magdalene (the service will be held in the upper chapel of the central cathedral).
7.00am – Matins
9.00am – Divine Liturgy

8 August, Thursday:
5.00pm – All-Night Vigil, Confession

9 August, Friday of St.Panteleimon. The feast day of the New Athos Monastery.
8.00am – Prayers and canon with water-blessing
9.00am – Divine Liturgy
11.00am – Litany (procession) with the icon of St.Panteleimon

10 August, Saturday:
5.00pm – Vespers, Confession

11 August, Sunday:
7.00am – Matins
9.00am – Divine Liturgy

14 August, Wednesday: the beginning of the Assumption Fast
11.00am – The requiem mass at the burial place of Athos soldiers who died during the Patriotic War of 1992-1993 in Abkhazia.

17 August, Saturday:
5.00pm – Vespers, Confession

18 August, Sunday:
7.00am – Matins
9.00am – Divine Liturgy
5.00pm – Great Vespers with Litany, Confession

19 August, Monday: Transfiguration of Jesus
7.00am – Matins
9.00am – The Divine Liturgy. Grape Fruit Blessing

24 August, Saturday:
5.00pm – Vespers, Confession

25 August, Sunday:
7.00am – Matins
9.00am – Divine Liturgy

27 August, Tuesday:
5.00pm – Great Vespers with Litany, Confession

28 August, Wednesday: The Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary
7.00am – Matins
9.00am – Divine Liturgy

31 August, Saturday:
5.00pm – Vespers, Confession

1 September, Sunday:
7.00am – Matins
9.00am – Divine Liturgy

From 14 August to 28 August – Assumption Fast. At this time in the New Athos monastery the Sacrament of Baptism is not held.